This website uses cookies

Cookies are small text files that can be used by websites to make a user's experience more secure and to analyze traffic to the site. We use cookies for the following purposes:

- Necessary: Cookies are required to access secure areas of the website and to provide important platform notifications. The site cannot function properly without these cookies
- Statistics: Cookies are used to track device information anonymously to better understand how visitors interact with the website.

This notice applies to the following domains: event.webcasts.com

The Perfect Storm: Preventing Operational Catastrophe

Tue, Mar 19, 2019 2:00 PM EDT{LOCAL_TZ}

The Perfect Storm: Preventing Operational Catastrophe

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 | 2:00 pm EDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 12:00 pm MST | 11:00 am PDT

With the ever changing roles in fire and emergency services there are many opportunities for our organizations to shine. Just as importantly, there are as many opportunities for our organizations to suffer the ramifications of poor decisions. Often after a negative event, organizations realize that there were red flags that were either ignored or missed which contributed to the development of “The Perfect Storm." This program discusses common red flags and situations that must be addressed and corrected to keep firefighters safe. From morale issues to safety concerns, equipment failures to changing standard operating procedures, the process of forecasting what could happen in the future is the same. Students will learn effective ways to manage the risks and create a culture of change whether they are a probationary member or the chief.

Presented by:
David Mellen

David Mellen is a 20-year student of the fire service, currently serving as career firefighter/paramedic with the Edwardsville, KS, Fire Department as well a captain with the Reno Township, KS, Volunteer Fire Department. Mellen is a lab instructor for the Johnson County Community College Fire Science program and has sat on several review committees for fire service training publications. He is also a instructor at Firehouse Expo, FDIC, and several other state and local fire schools in addition to being the owner of Valor Fire Training.






Sponsored By TargetSolutions
The future has arrived. Innovative applications for managing fire department training. The ability to track all types of compliance tasks. The ability to manage inspections from a mobile device, as well as your entire crew's schedule and overtime. It's all possible with TargetSolutions, the ultimate technology for operational readiness.
 
 
 
close log in form button
Log In Now Not Registered?

close register form button
Register Now Already Registered?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Yes, we use TargetSolutions
  • Yes, we use another system
  • No, we do not use an online training management system
  • Yes
  • No
  • Yes
  • No
  • Yes
  • No