Structural-Thermal-Optical-Performance Modeling

October 25, 2018 at 2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM PDT / 6:00 PM GMT

Event Description:

Optical systems such as cameras and telescopes are found in nearly every industry and technical field of study. Such systems are often required to operate reliably in harsh conditions, including space, atmosphere, underwater, nuclear facilities, high-powered lasers, and an increasingly broad array of exotic laboratory environments.

The most accurate numerical models of an optical system under such real-world conditions entail structural-thermal-optical-performance (STOP) analysis, in which the effects of temperature changes and structural loads (including thermal stress) are combined with geometrical optics simulation to accurately quantify the environment's potential impact on optical performance.


Tune into this webinar to learn how the COMSOL Multiphysics® software is eminently suitable for high-fidelity STOP analysis. The live demo will show how to couple structural, thermal, and optical simulations within the COMSOL® software, including geometry import and results processing.


You can ask questions at the end of the webinar during the Q&A session.


Light is focused by a Petzval lens assembly at a nonuniform temperature. Rays at three different angles of incidence are shown. Thermo-optic dispersion and thermal expansion undermine the optical performance, as shown by the accompanying spot diagrams. 


Presented by:



Stuart Barnes
Developer
COMSOL


Sponsored by:




*Please see www.comsol.com/privacy for COMSOL's Privacy Policy. Contact COMSOL at www.comsol.com/contact for more information.
Note that COMSOL will follow up with all registrants about this event and any related questions.




Watch on any mobile device – phone or tablet - or listen while you drive to work!
 




Have you recently registered for a Laser Focus World webcast? If so, simply enter your email address and click Submit. Then you will only need to answer a few questions specific to this event.
Complete this form to register for the webcast.   (* indicates required field)
  • I would like to receive emails from COMSOL AB and its affiliates about events like this as well as product news and other offerings, and I agree that COMSOL may process my information according to its Privacy Policy*. This consent may be withdrawn.