To Switch or Not To Switch…Key approaches to meet NEC 240.87

Tue, Apr 24, 2018 2:00 PM EDT{LOCAL_TZ}

To Switch or Not To Switch…Key approaches to meet NEC 240.87

Tuesday, April 24, 2018, at 11 a.m. PT/1 p.m. CT/2 p.m. ET
Attendees qualify for a Certificate of Completion
#datacenters

Electrical Designers and Engineers may join this presentation involving NEC 240.87 to obtain some of the methods and tools you can use to select and implement Arc-Flash reducing solutions. We will illustrate how electric power affects arcing current and how circuit breakers can operate to reduce the incident energy. Having such an understanding may foster safer and more cost effective solutions that comply with this code.

Key Takeaways:
  • A better understanding of the intent of NEC 240.87
  • Arc-flash Mediation Techniques & Tools
  • Determine cost effective methods that comply
  • New options for the latest 2018 Code 
  • How to calculate Incident Energy
  • Arc-Current vs Available Fault Current
  • Time-Curve Software and Calculators.
NEC 240.87 is a growing requirement that is spreading across the nation as more states adopt current code. When additional compliance of NEC700 & 701 come into scope, compliance of 240.87 becomes even more complicated. 
There is a perception that a “Maintenance Switch” is the only solution towards meeting 240.87. Understanding how a maintenance switch impacts the performance of arc-reduction system is critical for effective arc-mitigation and cost efficiency. This webinar will go behind the switch to see its impact of reducing incident energy between normal and maintenance modes. Furthermore there are other techniques that engineers can use to possibly eliminate the maintenance switch and possibly improve arc mitigation.

With or without a Maintenance Switch breaker settings have to be adjusted to ensure the normal mode is providing equipment protection and the maintenance mode provides equipment and arc-flash protection. Gaining knowledge to help determine what “approved equivalent means” might be useful in your next design.

Speakers: 
headshot
Rick Pinchard
Business Development Manager
Siemens
headshot
Robert W. Jensen
P.E., Business Development Manager
Siemens
headshot
Roy Hicks IV
Business Development Manager
Siemens
headshot
Jack Smith
Content Manager & Moderator
Consulting-Specifying Engineer




Sponsor:




Already Registered? Log In Now
Complete this form to enter the webcast.   (* indicates required field)
  • Zone selective interlocking (ZSI)
  • Maintenance Switch
  • Lower instantaneous via breaker settings