Locating workers, borrowed crews and contractors during emergencies: a case study on Hurricane Irma

January 23, 2018 at 12:30 PM EST / 11:30 AM CST / 9:30 AM PST / 5:30 PM GMT

Have you recently registered for a PowerGrid or EL&P webcasts? If so, simply click on ’Already Registered?’ and enter your email address. Then you will only need to answer a few questions specific to this event. 



Presented Live from DistribuTECH 2018 in San Antonio, TX.  Register now to watch online.

Attending DTECH 2018?  Plan to join us in room W-217A for the live event and lunch!



Sponsored by:

         


Webcast Description:

When Hurricane Irma was identified, it was expected to be the most intense Atlantic hurricane to strike the United States since Katrina. Adding new technology so close to such a major event could have been overwhelming to office and field staff, but Excelsior Electric chose to deploy a GPS location app directly to the workers' own smartphone or tablet to speed restorations and ensure workers were kept safe.

From their own workers to borrowed crews and contractors, Excelsior successfully onboarded the incoming crews provided through mutual aid programs to instantly access real-time GPS locations on their outage management maps. This webinar will show how the utility effectively managed over 150 workers from 6 states to restore power to the 18,000 affected meters – completing the restoration in a remarkable 72 hours. 

  


Presented by:


Bill Walden
Manager of Data and Technical Services
Excelsior Electric



Carol Johnston
VP Product Manager
Clevest


Bill Meehan
Director of Utility Solutions
Esri


 

Moderator: Teresa Hansen
Editor in chief
PowerGrid International, Electric Light & Power and Utility Products magazines


  

 Watch on any mobile device – phone or tablet - or listen while you drive to work!

close log in form button
Log In Now Not Registered?

close register form button
Register Now Already Registered?

  • Electric
  • Gas
  • Water
  • N/A