Evaluation and Optimization of Cyanotoxin Analytical Methods

Thu, Jul 13, 2017 1:00 PM MDT{LOCAL_TZ}

Evaluation and Optimization of Cyanotoxin Analytical Methods

Thursday, July 13th, 2017
1:00pm-2:00pm MT
(12pm-1:00pm PT, 2:00pm-3:00pm CT, 3pm-4:00pm ET)

This webcast will explore the results of Performance Evaluation of Methods for the Analysis of Cyanotoxins (project #4647). The goal of this project is to compare the Ohio EPA and U.S. EPA (Method 546) ADDA-ELISA methods and EPA Method 544, “Determination of Microcystins and Nodularin in Drinking Water by Solid Phase Extraction (SPE) and Liquid Chromatography/Tandem Mass Spectrometry (LC/MS/MS)” and investigate the inconsistencies between the methodologies as well as the precision and accuracies within each method. With the release of the EPA Drinking Water Health Advisory Cyanobacterial Microcystin, the Ohio EPA HAB Monitoring and Reporting Rules, and the 2018-2020 Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule using ADDA-ELISA methodology and/or LC/MS/MS to determine microcystin concentrations, it is important to understand the strengths and weakness of these methods at the part-per-trillion detection levels in drinking water. The information obtained during this project can be used to design a larger and more comprehensive inter-laboratory study to compare and evaluate the methodologies and variability between methods and laboratories. The findings for this project will be published in 2018; however, valuable preliminary findings will be shared during this webcast.

Presenters:

Mark Citriglia, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District   
Judy Westrick, Ph.D, Director of Lumingen Instrument Center (LIC), Wayne State University              
                                                        
 
 
 
 
 
 

Moderator:

Djanette Khiari, PhD, Water Research Foundation        
close log in form button
Log In Now Not Registered?

close register form button
Register Now Already Registered?