Social Media for Water Utilities

Thu, May 4, 2017 3:01 PM EDT{LOCAL_TZ}

Social Media for Water Utilities

Thursday, May 4th, 2017
3pm-4pm EST
(2pm-3pm CST, 1pm-2pm MST, 12pm-1pm PST)

This webcast will explore the findings of Social Media for Water Utilities (#4638). This project explored the business case for utility executives and board members to invest in social media. The project provides guidance to utility communications and customer service staff for meeting their everyday social media engagement needs in a way that is easy to start and simple to maintain over time. This webcast will discuss how water utilities are, and should be, using social media, based on the results from four complementary research approaches:

  • Literature Review: Determined what has already been discovered about drinking water utilities’ and wastewater utilities’ use of social media, an extensive literature review was conducted

  • Social Media User Survey: Four hundred Facebook users were asked to share their thoughts on connecting with their water utilities on social media

  • Benchmarking Effort: The social media profiles and activities of 60 small, medium, and large drinking water, wastewater, and stormwater utilities across the country were analyzed and compared

  • Case studies: Eight utilities shared insights about specific aspects of their social media use

The webcast will also highlight additional resources developed by the project, including a Social Media Posting Tool, FAQs, and Executive Briefing.

Presenter:

Eric Eckl, Founder, Water Words That Work, LLC

Moderator:
Alice Fulmer, Senior Research Manager
close log in form button
Log In Now Not Registered?

close register form button
Register Now Already Registered?