Registration - If you have recently registered for one of our webcasts, simply enter your email address in the Login field to the right.  New to Laser Focus World webcasts? Please complete the form in it entirety. Then next time, all we will need is your email address!

Simulating Laser Material Processing using COMSOL Multiphysics

Sponsored by:

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 1:00 PM CDT

2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM PDT / 6:00 PM GMT

The transformation of materials using focused laser beams fundamentally involves multiple physical phenomena such as optical absorption, heat transfer, structural mechanics, and material phase transitions. In this webinar we will describe two examples of laser material processing, resonant IR laser ablation and laser-based chemical vapor deposition. We use COMSOL Multiphysics to solve the coupled phenomena that drive material transformation. In each case, a direct comparison with experimental results is used to validate the model and optimize process parameters. The webinar includes a demonstration and concludes with a Q&A session.

Simulation of a glass surface deformed into a characteristic rimmed-pit shape by laser-induced Marangoni shear stress


Speakers:  

Chris Pinciuc, Applications Engineer, COMSOL

Chris Pinciuc completed B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in Physics at the University of Western Ontario and then received a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Toronto. He is currently an Applications Engineer at COMSOL in Palo Alto, California. His interests include computational electromagnetics, the finite element method, atomic physics and magnetism.

Manyalibo Matthews, PhD, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Manyalibo Matthews holds a Ph.D. in physics from M.I.T. and a B.S. in applied physics from U.C. Davis. He is currently the deputy group leader in the Condensed Matter and Materials Division at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and principal investigator of lab-funded R&D focusing on laser and optical materials research. Prior to his work at LLNL, he was a member of the technical staff at Bell Labs where he worked on novel photonic materials.

Watch on any mobile device – phone or tablet - or listen while you drive to work!

Already registered for an event in this series? Log In Now
Email:

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)

First Name*:
Last Name*:
Company*:
Department:
Email*:
Job Title*:
Address*:
City*:
Country*:
U.S. State (Not required if Non-US):
Candian Province (Not required if Non-Canadian):
Zip/Postal Code*:
Phone Number*:
Mobile Number:
Are you a COMSOL User?*:
  • Yes
  • No
Fax Number: