Performance Benchmarking for Effectively Managed Water Utilities

March 6th, 2014
3:00-4:00pm ET
(2:00pm-3:00pm CT, 1:00pm-2:00pm MT, 12:00pm-1:00pm PT)

WRF funded project #4313 to serve its subscribers and the water and wastewater sectors by providing a practical tool to utilities to conduct assessments and strategically develop key organizational attributes to meet specific goals. The tool builds on recommendations presented in Effective Utility Management (EUM): A Primer for Water and Wastewater Utilities (EPA, AMWA, APWA, AWWA, NACWA, NAWC, WEF, 2008). WRF identified two major gaps that hampered utilities’ efforts when trying to implement the Ten Attributes of EUM defined in the Primer: (1) an explicit identification of practice areas that utilities can use to support these efforts; and (2) a structured process benchmarking exercise to guide the development and implementation of these attributes.

This Webcast will include three primary topics:

  • Background on the project and summary of primary findings and products
  • Description of the recommended process for conducting a self-assessment
  • Illustration of how to use the benchmarking tool developed for the project to conduct a self-assessment


The background segment of the webcast will describe how the project team, with the aid of WRF, participating utilities, the Project Advisory Committee, and six industry associations, developed practice areas and performance measures for each of the Ten Attributes of EUM. The recommended process segment will describe recommendations for identifying members of a benchmarking team, and how team members should be engaged to develop a customized self-assessment and score current and target performance. The final segment of the webcast will demonstrate how the benchmarking tool developed for this project can be used to efficiently support the self-assessment process.

Presenter:
Michael Matichich, CH2M HILL
Yakir Hasit, CH2M HILL
Fair Yeager, CH2M HILL

Moderator
Linda Reekie, Water Research Foundation

Already Registered? Log In Now
Email:

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)

First Name*:
Last Name*:
Company*:
Email*: