A Clearer Picture: Leveraging HD Video Technology to Improve Campus Safety

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 | 1:00 PM ET | 12:00 PM CT | 11:00 AM MT | 10:00 AM PT

Des Moines Area Community College is the largest and fastest growing community college in Iowa, with 75,000 students and 3,000 staff members spread across six campuses and 48 buildings covering 1.4 million square feet. With a growing national focus on campus violence, Ned Miller, Director of Campus Safety and Emergency Management at DMACC, was tasked with implementing a comprehensive video surveillance solution to increase student and staff safety while adhering to a tight post-secondary budget.

Join Ned as he discusses how DMACC:
  • Ensured student and staff safety in high-traffic areas and parking lots by replacing numerous analog cameras with fewer high-definition cameras ranging from 1 MP to 16 MP
  • Implemented HD surveillance software, cutting investigation times from days to minutes and getting staff up and running quicker
  • Saved $12,000 annually on up-front investment, infrastructure, licensing and maintenance costs by replacing an analog system with a mix of HD surveillance cameras and analog video encoders

Presented by:
 
Ned Miller Ned Miller
Director, Campus Safety & Emergency Management
Des Moines Area Community College

Miller joined DMACC as safety consultant in January 2008 and became the DMACC safety officer in April of that year. He was appointed director, campus safety and emergency management on July 1, 2011. Miller's safety and emergency planning experience includes over 35 years in safety, education, agri-business, manufacturing, and consulting.


Ryan Jones Ryan Jones
Sales Engineer
Avigilon Corporation

Ryan Jones is a systems engineer for Avigilon with a seven state territory in the north central U.S. His ten years of experience in IP video technology includes systems engineering with an integrator in his hometown of St. Louis, Mo., as well as time as a project manager and a field technician.


Ian Povey Ian Povey
Director of Product Marketing and Management
Avigilon Corporation

Ian manages Avigilon's entire product portfolio during each stage of the lifecycle. Ian has over 15 years of product management experience in the high-tech industry.

Already Registered? Log In Now
Email:

Complete this form to enter the webcast.
(* indicates required field)

First Name*:
Last Name*:
Company*:
Email*:
Title*:
Address 1*:
Address 2:
City*:
State*:
Country:
Postal Code*:
Phone Number*:
Does your organization currently have a surveillance system in place?*:
Are you or will you be evaluating surveillance system providers?*: